Stick Figure: Honest, Independent, and Productive.

When you listen to music, what is the first genre you run too? Is it full of ambient noise? Is it lyrical? Is it loud, or soft? Do you prefer music with a lot of bass? How about music that resonates? Whatever timbre you prefer, recorded music has it all! According to Deidre Pike’s chapter Don’t Stop Believing written in “Media Literacy: Seeking Honesty, Independence, and Productivity in Today’s Mass Messages. (2014)” “music has the power to provide audiences with a new perspective, Franti told an interviewer. “We can’t change foreign policy or fix global warming, but music has the power to provide a different perspective of how people view the world.” For me, the reggae group “Stick Figure” has done just that!

f20b4773d8c0ea504c786797ce292495--music-bands-stick-figures

Jeff Woodruff’s article “About Stick Figure” (2017), published on www.stickfiguremusic.com, describes how my favorite band “Stick Figure” rose to fame as a reggae roots dub band. Jeff Woodruff, brother of lead singer, song writer, and musician Scott Woodruff of “Stick Figure” explains that the group is “built on the hypnotic rhythms and the instantly singable choruses that are Stick Figure trademarks”.  Woodruff’s purpose is to define and distinguish between the different structures of “Stick Figure” music which have given the band their rise to fame as an honest, independent, and productive music group. Considering the fact that www.stickfiguremusic.com is a dedicated advertisement page for the band, I purpose the intended audience is for everyone with access to their page. I found the information provided by Woodruff to be very intriguing as I did not know the groups mascot, Cocoa was a rescue pup! According to Jeff Woodruff, “with (Brother Scott) Woodruff as the genial on-stage figurehead, Stick Figure concerts are gatherings distinguished by extended improvisational interludes, the mind-manifesting hues of a light show, and the much-anticipated entrance of the band’s canine mascot, a rescued Australian Shepherd, Cocoa The Tour Dog.” Stick Figure concerts express an honest earth loving theme with songs like “Choice is Yours”, “Hawaii Song”, and “In This Love”. With over 118k followers on Spotify, I feel “Stick Figure” is accepted and approved by the masses. “Honesty? The role of a recording artist in contemporary times is a complex one. Make art – and fame and money” (Pike, 2014), “Stick Figure” has successfully made art, fame and money without compromising there overall mission “to create authentic artistry from the foundation of roots-dub reggae” (Woodruff, 2017).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“What a life I’ve been living in”, a line taken straight from their famous song “Smokin’ Love” describes how the group founded by Scott Woodruff has created something from nothing, resulting in complete record independence. “Ruffwood Records, also founded by Scott Woodruff releases all of Woodruff’s albums to date” (Woodruff, 2017) allowing the group to be as inclusive as they desire. On December 11, 2007, Woodruff released his first album The Sound of My Addiction under Ruffwood Records (Woodruff, 2017). I personally support Stick Figure as an independent music group because I feel I am not contributing to an industry but rather devoted and talented artists who are passionate about making music.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stick Figure’s music produces physical and emotional feelings for me, and I’m assuming the 118k other followers who enjoy listening to the groups “vibrant sonic soundscape”. When I feel like I am having a bad day, I often turn to Stick Figure for words of inspiration. I feel like Stick Figure has a song with specific lyrics for every feeling I have which makes them by far my favorite band. “Recorded music can be a productive social force that simply reassures listeners that others share our hopes, fears, and joys” (Pike, 2014) like Stick Figure’s song “Weight of Sound” does when I listen to the lyric “it’s just love, there’s nothing else more real”. I feel other share my feelings when I hear “it’s just love, there’s nothing else more real” because I’ve found that love gets people farther than hate! Therefore, I’ll end my WordPress tonight here, on another Stick Figure lyric, “where there is love, there is life, there’s a hope and a dream, this is the place for you and me” (Fire on the Horizon-Stick Figure).

 

 

 

“Have a little faith, everything will be just fine” – Stick Figure “Easy Runaway”

 

 

This music video does an awesome job showing off their recording studio in Santa Cruz!!! I absolutely love the details they put into their music videos, I guess having your own record label helps in that aspect. No one to tell you what you can and can’t have in your music videos.

“When the world does you wrong, listen to that song, like the birds they listen to the trees” – Stick Figure “Fire on the Horizon”

 

Please, if interested, check out https://www.stickfiguremusic.com/

Sources:

Pike, Deidre: Media Literacy: Seeking Honesty, Independence, and Productivity in Today’s Mass Messages. (2014)

Woodruff, Jeff: www.stickfiguremusic.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Stick Figure: Honest, Independent, and Productive.

  1. I like the way you included video and links that relate to what it is you are trying to get across to the general audience. I watched the videos and came to a deeper understanding of what the music is trying to convey to listeners. I enjoyed looking through and reading this blog as well as listening to the videos and links used to outline the main points you depicted here before me. The different songs by Stick Figure interested me in what life is about and how it can be seen through a varying perspective. Keep up the good work and I hope to read more of your blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment